Save and splurge...

06 November 2015 - 8:47 p.m.

Why am I such a retard when it comes to money?

One minute I'll be frugal as hell and reuse cups for days in order to not switch on the immersion for hot water.

The next, I get a few days like yesterday and today.

I have splurged over a month's rent on an iSUP (paddle board) that in truth I doubt I'll use much - if at all before the spring. It was WAY too good an offer to knock back, and it'll retain it's value should I need to resell it...

I have also been nagged into signing up for the Royal Marine Commando challenge next year. I was stoked and looking forward to it until I found out it wasn't the fun 4km one. Or even the super challenging 10km... Nope - she's done us each out of my monthly shopping bill in order to kill ourselves trying to complete the 17KM. 17!!!! WTF! Obstacles, wet and mud - fine. Confinement, dunking, ropes, climbs - whatever. Running?! Fuck that! I could probably power walk, or a combination of that and being dragged / carried by teammates. I need motivation, which is not going to come easily... I bloody hate running...

I have also found a previously hidden yet now burning desire to go to a cosplay gig. I have found the most incredible outfit that's neither gaudy nor scant, and need an excuse to wear it (because it probably won't pass as lingerie sadly)... Also to justify the hefty expense...

Oh, and I also have to get to London in a fortnight to meet G. He's offered to get over here, but he's always doing the travelling and I feel guilty. Sadly, it costs to get to the other side of the country...

Also, his work xmas party is coming up in a few weeks and I need something to wear. It'll be our first public outing... With his colleagues, in a very posh hotel / wedding venue where EVERYTHING is paid for by his company. I feel so out of my depth already... I have made an appointment to brighten my hair the day before too, so my roots will be no longer and it'll still look good for xmas, but it'll also be slightly fluorescent in a room full of black-tied professionals... On the other hand, it's nice for someone to want to show me off - I'm not used to that!

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble