Decisions

09 November 2015 - 9:33 p.m.

Today, Mum and I went up to Middle Sister's to see how she was.

Not good... Stress made her walk out of work, and she's seeing the doctor to get signed off on Monday.

A phonecall from her boss - of whom she is not fond - made the day a lot worse than it started out. Mum spoke to him, and with any luck there won't be any more contact until after the doctor's note is sent through.

We still had a good walk with the dogs in the quiet of the countryside, before going shopping for bits we needed and lunch.

At the cafe we stopped at, one of my customers was being served at the till. She was certainly surprised to see me, but we had a lovely catch-up.

Last week, her husband went in to a care home. He has such severe dementia that he didn't recognise me, a person who used to have such lengthy conversations with him. From smiley, sunny and loving to constantly fighting with his wife despite her best efforts and not knowing who he is. He has moments of remembering, but he is slipping away. So sad, and a loss for the world even though he's still alive. I'm so glad I knew him before it took him over.

I am hoping to pop in to see my sister again next week, as I'll be in town to catch a bus to London. Depending on what happens with her appointment on Monday, I will be able to check she's okay. If she has other plans, I'll just head to the station.

My first visit to our capital in almost 3 years, and one I am actually dreading a fair amount. Nervous fear, that is - I'll be spending time in our fair capital staying with G and trying not to be too awkward. Especially as it's overnight... Not that I expect anything to happen, but I dread staying away from my own bed at the best of times.

He keeps offering to drive me all the way back across the country to get home, but I feel so guilty making him do that. I know he can easily tie in other things to do and people to see, but that's not the point. I owe him for doing that once already, and it's not like it's just down the road...

He's also confirmed my worst nightmare - it will be a proper, full-on black tie do next month (with added disco)... He's not wearing his tux though, as it won't fit currently, but he has another option... He also loves the fact that my hair will be fully turquoise for it (- so will my scalp, which I hope nobody really notices).

I, on the other hand, am shitting myself about it. What the fuck do I wear?! Short, black frilled dress? Long multicoloured maxi dress? Skin-tight one-shouldered green dress? Black babydoll dress with a lace cut-out back? Do I just go shopping? Fuck, I hate this!

I realise that I have a few options there, but I dislike the responsibility of being the plus one trophy who everyone seems to want to meet. Fear of disappointing people? Perhaps...

I have asked his opinion, which was the expected 'you'll look amazing in anything you choose', which is lovely but not helpful.

I still have a bit of time. I'll need it to practice the ever-hated eyeliner if nothing else....

Wait, go back a bit! - Onward ho!

E 's hugs


My profile Current blog What has come before Leave me a note Skyefire's diary Graagh's diary Read other diaries Recommend to a friend Mmmm... brains... Get your own fun, free diary!

I feel Flibble